Skip to content

Introduction

January 26, 2010

The Book of Kings begins with Solomon’s appointment as King of Israel by his father David and ends with Judah’s exile to Babylon. Just like Samuel, Kings was split into two separate books. Its’ author is unknown but Jewish tradition believes Jeremiah is the author. Its’ canonicity has never been questioned. Kings is believed to represent an eyewitness account written by prophets having a human perspective whereas Chronicles is thought to be a post-exilic compilation written by the priests with a divine perspective.

For my commentary I have chosen to consider only the life of Solomon, I Kings 1-11. Once Israel is divided we learn that her kings, Judah’s and Israel’s, either follow the Lord or promote evil. Continuing on makes for a good historical study but the commentary can become rote. I did, however, complete an excellent study of Kings and Chronicles with my CBS class so it is possible I may came back and complete Kings.  [And I did in the category “Divided Kingdom Kings”.

I Kings 1-11, the life of Solomon as Israel’s King, covers 40 years. The actual dates vary depending on which OT scholar one reads. The most popular dating of Solomon’s reign seems to be 970-930 BC.

In studying Solomon you will note that I have included Ecclesiastes, the Song of Solomon and Proverbs following Kings. My thinking is that this gives us a good picture of just who Solomon was. He was more than a King. For instance:

I Kings 1-11 tells us about Solomon the King.

Ecclesiastes tells us about Solomon the Philosopher.

The Song of Solomon tells us about Solomon the Lover.

Proverbs tells us about Solomon the Wise Man.

Comments are closed.

